Make A Donation

Penguins Foundation Awards Scholarships to 10 Local High School Graduates

The Pittsburgh Penguins and the Penguins Foundation have honored 10 high school graduates with Pittsburgh Penguins Foundation Scholarships.

In partnership with UPMC, and with the strong support of the Allegheny Intermediate Unit (AIU), the Penguins Foundation awarded 10 educational-based scholarships for the 2020-2021 school year.  Over the past eight years, the Foundation has awarded a total of 138 scholarships.

To be eligible, students must attend a Pittsburgh Public School or an Allegheny County high school that provides substantial aid to students for reduced-cost or free lunch programs per the National School Lunch Program (NSLP), which is administered by the Pennsylvania Department of Education – Division of Food and Nutrition.

Each scholarship is valued at $3,000 for the student’s first year of college, and an additional $2,000 is awarded for the student’s second year of college if a 3.0 GPA is maintained and a minimum of 24 credit hours are earned.

The Penguins Foundation scholarship recipients for 2020-2021 are as follows:

Elizabeth Alfieri, Woodland Hills High School, Reed College

Olivia Allison, Pittsburgh CAPA, Butler University

Aidan Blazevich, West Mifflin Area High School, Carnegie Mellon University

Duncan Caltagarone, Allegheny Valley High School, Penn State University

Kourtnee Duval, South Allegheny High School, University of Pittsburgh Johnstown

Truong An Le, Woodland Hills High School, University of Pittsburgh

Deborah Mwadi, Brashear High School, Carlow University

Bradan O’Neill, Highlands High School, Allegheny College

Emma Papariella, Woodland Hills High School, Slippery Rock University

Ilana Tseytlin, Pittsburgh Allderdice, University of Pittsburgh


The scholarship was created in 1992 and has been presented annually to high school seniors for academic excellence, extracurricular school activities and community service.

The Pittsburgh Penguins, the Penguins Foundation and UPMC extend heartfelt congratulations to all the scholars and wish them continued success at their respective colleges and universities.